If this is your first visit, be sure to
check out the FAQ by clicking the
link above. You may have to register
before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages,
select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
i'm confused because people always say kosher stuff is haram, but i thought in the quran it says it's ok to eat food from the 'people of the book'
Is Kosher Halal ??
Kosher is from the Hebrew word kasher, which means "fit" and "proper". The term is usually used for food that Jews are permitted to eat under dietary laws that are derived from passages in the biblical books of Leviticus and Deuteronomy. Some elements of Jewish and Islamic dietary laws are common, while some are not. Here are some major differences:
[click link at the bottom of the article to view the chart]
From an article by Dr. M. Riaz, TexasA & MUniversity; minor adjustments by eat-halal.com
It must be noted that if a product is Kosher certified, it does not mean that the product is automatically Halal. While it is true that Kosher certification can be used as a tool for eating halal, one must be very careful. There are Kosher certification agencies which certify products and ingredients which are not considered Kosher by many Jews.
lol i didnt answer my own question. i dont get it if they're the people of the book then why is it only "sometimes" ok to eat it and how are we supposed to know when sometimes is?
focusing on what food are halal and haram is going too far?
the way you do it yes
halal and haram are just part of a test in your life
you can even eat pork if you're starving to death
to modern day muslims, halal and haram became more like a superstitious thing rather than an act of worship
focusing on things like eating a candy with pig gelatin or plucking your eyebrows or using fake nails... it's not like if 500 afghan children are dying every day from hunger
Comment